## DILLON COUNTY COUNCIL CALLED MEETING 109 SOUTH THIRD AVENUE DILLON SC 29536 April 19, 2022 5:00 PM

**Amended Minutes** 

The Dillon County Council held a meeting on April 19, 2022 at 5:00 pm in the County Council Chambers. Present were: Harold Moody, Stevie Grice, Gerome McLeod, Buzzy Finklea, Detrice Dawkins and Jamal Campbell. Also present were Claude Graham, Matthew Elvington, Drucilla Blakely, Lisa Miller, and Betsy Finklea (Dillon Herald).

The following were notified of the meeting and provided an agenda: By e-mail – Charles Curry, Randy Grimsley (Dillon County EMS), The Dillon Herald, Susan Norton (Perdue), Tim Ammons (Attorney), Lisa Miller and Clay Young (Dillon County Economic Development), Yolanda McCormick (Dillon County Librarian), Gabriel Salmon (PDCAA), Larry Abraham (Chief Deputy), Les Jackson (County Deputy), Terry Morris, Alvin Nobles, Dillon County Planning/Code Enforcement Office, WMBF News, Sheriff Major Hulon, Jerry Rivers, Dan Gruszka, Bobby Holland (SCANA), Jamie Estes (Dillon County Treasurer), Dillon County Finance, Sonny McRae (Dillon County E911), Alan Lane, Steve Johnson and Randy Rouse (Hometown TV), Haywood Proctor, Bo McInnis, Helen & Carley Wiggins, Danny Holder (Dillon County IT), Florence Morning News Room, Kenneth Smith, Calvin Matthews, Charlie Bailey, Gerry Flemming, Tonie Martin, Rosco Oxendine, Delores Smith, Terry Brown, Winna Miller, Jacorie McCall, Melissa Thompson, Deborah Vann, Jennifer Ward, Corey Jackson, Bill Patel, Tonya Brown and RJ Fodera (WPDE News), S. Suber, Claire Hall, Charles Taylor, Matthew Elvington, B. Herring (WBTW News), Kelly Jordan (MDT), Karen D. Francis (McLeod), Robbie Coward, LV Clerk, RJ Fodera; Jennifer Davis; Brandon Norris (McNair-Burr Law), Claire Hall, Ray Jones and Madison Felder (Parker Poe), Kyle Wagner (Northeastern Tech), Representative Jackie Hayes, Vernon Grimsley (Dillon County Recreation), Jack McInnis, Moses Heyward and Michelle Bethea (Dillon County Disaster Preparedness), Chuck McLain, Sabrina Davis and Tim Harper (Marion County), Whit McGreevy (K&L Gates), Jarrett Taylor, Benny Genwright, Maggie Dunham, Josephine Gilcrist, Robbie Coward and Glen Wagner (City of Dillon), Tony Caulder (Dillon County Maintenance), Lindsay Privette (Pee Dee COG); By fax – Dillon Herald, Farm Bureau and Pee Dee Electric.

## Chairman Buzzy Finklea presided over the meeting.

Harold Moody made a motion to approve the agenda and Gee McLeod seconded. All were in favor.

Detrice Dawkins made a motion to approve the minutes from February 23rd and March 23rd meetings. Jamal Campbell seconded and all voted in favor.

Next, Claude Graham read the Fair Housing Resolution which designates April 2022 as Fair Housing Month. Gee McLeod made a motion to approve the resolution and Trice Dawkins seconded. All voted in favor.

After a brief discussion about the condemnation of tracts of land on Hwy 34 for the widening of the road, Gee McLeod made a motion to move forward with the condemnation if an

agreement is not worked out with the landowners. Jamal Campbell seconded and all voted in favor.

An ordinance to change the zoning of property on West Canal Rd. in Latta was presented for second reading. Harold Moody made a motion to approve the second reading and Stevie Grice seconded. All voted in favor.

**Intitials Data
**Intitials
council members present and also the plans on what the money would be used for. Attorney Allan Berry explained that to have a quorum you must to have at least four members present and as long there is a majority vote on a GO Bond issue it does pass. Claude Graham said the money would be used for the transfer station, fuel systems to replace one pump or possibly two, upgrade the financial software system in the treasurer's office and purchase two motor graders.
Gee McLeod made a motion to go into executive session and Stevie Grice seconded. All voted in favor.
Stevie Grice made a motion to come out of executive session and Trice Dawkins seconded. All voted in favor.
No action was taken in executive session.
Trice Dawkins made a motion to adjourn. Stevie Grice seconded. All voted in favor.
T.F. Finklea, Chairman
Lisa S. Miller, Clerk to Council
Druscilla Blakely, Interim Clerk to Council
Date approved