Dillon County Council Called Meeting July 21, 2021 5:00 PM

The Dillon County Council held a call meeting on July 21, 2021 at 5:00 pm in the County Council Chambers. Present were: Christopher Miller, Gerome McLeod, Buzzy Finklea, Detrice Dawkins, Stevie Grice, Harold Moody and Jamal Campbell. Also present were Clay Young, Joy Snipes, Lisa Miller, Betsy Finklea (Dillon Herald) and WPDE TV 15.

The following were notified of the meeting and provided an agenda: By e-mail – Charles Curry, Randy Grimsley (Dillon County EMS), The Dillon Herald, Susan Norton (Perdue), Tim Ammons (Attorney), Lisa Miller and Clay Young (Dillon County Economic Development), Yolanda McCormick (Dillon County Librarian), Gabriel Salmon (PDCAA), Larry Abraham (Chief Deputy), Les Jackson (County Deputy), Terry Morris, Alvin Nobles, Dillon County Planning/Code Enforcement Office, WMBF News, Sheriff Major Hulon, Jerry Rivers, Dan Gruszka, Bobby Holland (SCANA), Jamie Estes (Dillon County Treasurer), Dillon County Finance, Sonny McRae (Dillon County E911), Alan Lane, Steve Johnson and Randy Rouse (Hometown TV), Haywood Proctor, Bo McInnis, Helen & Carley Wiggins, Danny Holder (Dillon County IT), Florence Morning News Room, Kenneth Smith, Calvin Matthews, Charlie Bailey, Gerry Flemming, Tonie Martin, Rosco Oxendine, Delores Smith, Terry Brown, Winna Miller, Jacorie McCall, Melissa Thompson, Deborah Vann, Jennifer Ward, Corey Jackson, Bill Patel, Tonya Brown and RJ Fodera (WPDE News), S. Suber, Claire Hall, Charles Taylor, Matthew Elvington, B. Herring (WBTW News), Kelly Jordan (MDT), Karen D. Francis (McLeod), Robbie Coward, LV Clerk, RJ Fodera; Jennifer Davis; Brandon Norris (McNair-Burr Law), Claire Hall, Ray Jones and Madison Felder (Parker Poe), Kyle Wagner (Northeastern Tech), Representative Jackie Hayes, Vernon Grimsley (Dillon County Recreation), Jack McInnis, Moses Heyward and Michelle Bethea (Dillon County Disaster Preparedness), Chuck McLain, Sabrina Davis and Tim Harper (Marion County), Whit McGreevy (K&L Gates), Jarrett Taylor, Benny Genwright and Glen Wagner (City of Dillon), Tony Caulder (Dillon County Maintenance), Lindsay Privette (Pee Dee COG); By fax – Dillon Herald, Farm Bureau and Pee Dee Electric.

Chairman Buzzy Finklea presided over the meeting.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Finklea led the pledge of allegiance.

INVOCATION

Gerome McLeod gave the invocation.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Harold Moody motioned to approve the agenda. Jamal Campbell seconded and all were in favor.

Ordinance Reading

- A. FIRST READING AN ORDINANCE TO CHANGE ZONING MAP CLASSIFICATION FROM RURAL (RU) TO LIGHT INDUSTRIAL (ID-1) TAX MAP NO: 068-00-00-002 (165 ACRES), PROPERTY OWNER: Dillon Property Holdings LLC, PROPOSED LOCATION: Bisected by Industrial Park Road and north of Fairfield Road, Dillon SC Harold Moody made a motion to approve the first reading and Stevie Grice seconded. All were in favor.
- B. FIRST READING An Ordinance to Provide Budget Appropriations for County Purposes in the County of Dillon for the Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2021 and Ending June 30, 2022 and Adopt and Implement Rates and Fees, and for Other Tax Purposes and County Appropriation Purposes and to Establish the Tax Millage to Provide for the Budget. Stevie Grice made a motion to approve the first reading of the budget and Harold Moody seconded. Harold Moody, Stevie Grice, Buzzy Finklea and Christopher Miller voted in favor. Datrice Dawkins, Jamal Campbell and Gerome McLeod voted against first reading.

New Business

- A. Sheheen, Hancock & Godwin, LLP Audit Contract
 - Harold Moody made a motion to approve the contract and Stevie Grice seconded. All were in favor
- B. Webster Rogers, LLP Audit Contract
 - Christopher Miller made a motion to approve the contract and Harold Moody seconded. All were in favor except Datrice Dawkins.
- C. Enterprise Contract
 - Christopher Miller made a motion to approve the contract and Jamal Campbell seconded. All were in favor.
- D. County Vehicle Policy/Trackers **Discussion only. Policy will be created and presented to council later.**
- E. Memorandum of Agreement the per diem rate is \$50.00 per day for any juvenile housed at the SCDJJ detention facility. **Gerome McLeod made a motion to approve the agreement and Jamal Campbell seconded.** All were in favor.
- F. Bonus Checks County Employee **Discussion only no action taken**

Council Committee Reports

A. Administrative committee presented a proposal for engineering work on the county airport. It is their recommendation to hire Talbert and Bright. Christopher Miller made a motion to hire Talbert and Bright and Stevie Grice seconded. All were in favor.

Appointments

A. A. Tax Appeal Board – District 1

District 3 – Thomas McRae **Trice motion, Gee seconded, all in favor**

District 6 – Kevin Drawhorn **Gee motion, Jamal seconded, all in favor**

District 7 – Steve Johnson **Stevie motioned, Harold seconded, all in favor**

B. Library Board – District 2 – Carolyn Lupo

07/2021 Miller motion, Grice

Seconded, all in favor

District 3 – LeVan Mitchell

07/2021 Dawkins motion,

McLeod seconded, all in favor

District 4 – Vickie Graham

07/2021 Grice motion, Campbell

seconded, all in favor

District 7 – Thelma Burns **Grice made a motion to replace with**

Brownie Campbell, Moody seconded and all were in favor

Grievance Committee – District 2 – Tony Price **Miller motion, Grice second, all in favor**

District 3 – kenard McKellan Dawkins motion, Moody

seconded, all in favor

C. Public Private Econ Dev Board – District 1 – Johnathan McLeod

District 2 - Allen Strickland

District 3 – Robbie Coward (reappointed 5/2021)

District 4 – Kimberly Driggers **Grice motion**, **Moody**

second, al in favor

District 5 – Haywood Proctor

District 6 – Robert Abson District 7 – Keith Allen Chairman at-Large – Johnnie Leuhrs **Grice motion,**

Campbell second, all in favor

Executive Session

Moody made a motion to go into executive session, Grice second and all were in favor. Grice made a motion to come out of executive session, Campbell seconded and all were in favor. **No action taken**

Adjourn Stevie Grice made a motion to adjourn. Da	nwkins seconded. All were in favor.	
T.F. Finklea, Chairman	_	
Lisa S. Miller, Clerk to Council	_	
Date approved		